Coast to Coast Seminar Series - Fall 2011

 

The Coast to Coast Seminar is an hour-long presentation given on a scientific topic and made accessible to audiences at a number of remote sites through collaboration technology. The seminars are held every two weeks throughout the academic year.

Modelling of Complex Systems

This season, the series will examin an issue of increasing importance: modelling of complex systems central to social issues. Complex systems exhibit properties that are not obvious from their individual parts such as systems driven by social influences and human behaviour. They arise in many fields such as climate changes, life sciences, criminology research, urban dynamics, disease dynamics, and health services delivery. Many of the most pressing social problems of this century need to be studied as complex systems. In general, modelling of complex systems require interdisciplinary knowledge, sophisticated mathematics (modelling and optimization), computational techniques and a profound understanding of the issues and context of related problems.

 

September 20 | Martin A. Andresen, School of Criminology, Simon Fraser University

October 4 | Thomas Hillen, Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta

October 18 | Warren Hare, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus

November 1 | Yuriy Zinchenko Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Calgary

November 15 | Sheldon B. Opps, Department of Physics, University of Prince Edward Island

November 29 | Michael Carter, Centre for Research in Healthcare Engineering, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Toronto

Times:

Sep 20, Oct 4, Oct 18 and Nov 1:

   

Nov 15 and Nov 29

BC 11:30-12:30 (PDT)

AB 12:30-1:30 (MDT)

SK 12:30-1:30 (CST)

MB 1:30-2:30 (CDT)

   

BC 11:30-12:30 (PST)

AB 12:30-1:30 (MST)

SK 1:30-2:30 (CST)

MB 1:30-2:30 (CST)

 

The Coast to Coast Seminar Series is organized and distributed by WestGrid, AARMS, ACEnet, HPCVL, the IRMACS Centre, SciNet and SHARCNET.

 

For more info, please visit the IRMACS Coast to Coast website. Click here to download poster.