Current Executive


Nikitas Dimopoulos

University of Victoria

Nikitas Dimopoulos is a Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Victoria. His research is in the general area of computer engineering. Dimopoulos is specifically interested in computer architecture, parallel computer systems, neural networks, power aware systems, and the grid. He joined the University of Victoria in 1988 after spending a year at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, USA, and served as Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering between 1998 and 2003 and again between 2005 and 2008. Prior to this, he held academic appointments with Concordia University in Montreal. Dimopoulos is a registered Professional Engineer in British Columbia and Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada. He holds the Lansdowne Chair in Computer Engineering.



Mark Thachuk
University of British Columbia

Mark Thachuk is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of British Columbia. He received his PhD from the University of Waterloo. Thachuk’s research in chemistry has led to many publications, resulting in fundamental contributions to the understanding of the theory and computer simulation of the dynamics of gas phase ions.



Dugan O'Neil
Simon Fraser University

Dugan O’Neil is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physics at Simon Fraser University. His research is in particle physics at the energy frontier. He has an MSc from the University of Alberta and a PhD from the University of Victoria. In 2003, O’Neil founded a Canadian consortium on the D0 Experiment, a worldwide collaboration of scientists conducting research on the fundamental nature of matter. His group used WestGrid resources at the University of British Columbia and Simon Fraser University to process hundreds of terabytes of raw data from the experiment. The output was utilized to find the first evidence of single top quark production in 2006, and to observe the process in 2009. His research now focuses on finding new physics using the ATLAS experiment at CERN. He currently serves as Deputy Spokesperson for the ATLAS-Canada collaboration.



Peter Tieleman
University of Calgary

Peter Tieleman studied physical chemistry at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands, where he obtained his PhD under the supervision of Herman Berendsen, one of the pioneers of biomolecular simulation. After a year as a European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) fellow at the University of Oxford in Mark Sansom’s research group, Tieleman joined the University of Calgary. Since 2005, he has been a Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences. He is currently an Alberta Innovates Health Solutions Scientist and Alberta Innovates Technology Futures Strategic Chair in (Bio)Molecular Simulation, working in the areas of biomolecular simulation and computational biology. Among his distinctions are an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship, the Royal Society of Canada’s Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry, and a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Steacie Memorial Fellowship.



Paul Lu
University of Alberta

Paul Lu is an Associate Professor in the Department of Computing Science at the University of Alberta. His research is in the area of high-performance computing (HPC), including algorithms, bioinformatics, virtual machines and cloud computing. In 2004, Paul’s research group created a pan-Canadian metacomputer across 19 universities and 22 administrative domains, known as the Canadian Internetworked Scientific Supercomputer. He also co-coached the University of Alberta team that won the first annual Cluster Computing Challenge at Supercomputing 2007. In 2010, his Ph.D. student contributed the ivshmem/Nahanni virtual device to the Linux KVM code base.



Ray Spiteri
University of Saskatchewan

Ray Spiteri is a Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Saskatchewan. He has served on the WestGrid Executive since 2006. Spiteri is a former MITACS/Mprime Project Leader (2004-2012), during which time he served as the MITACS Regional Scientific Director for the Prairie Provinces for a four-year term. His areas of research are numerical analysis, scientific computing, and high-performance computing. Spiteri lives the dream of solving differential equations for a living. His specialty is designing efficient methods for the time integration of ordinary and partial differential equations. He also has a long record of industry collaboration with companies such as IBM and Boeing. His current applications include simulation of electrical activity in the heart, fluidized-bed gasifiers, and fuel cells.



Byron Southern
University of Manitoba

Byron Southern has been in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Manitoba since 1979 and has served on the WestGrid Executive since 2006 when WestGrid expanded to include all universities in Western Canada. He has served as Chair of the Executive and as a member of the National initiatives Committee for Compute Canada. His research interests are in the physics of frustrated magnetic materials and he uses HPC to simulate the magnetic properties of these systems.